Half term and the sun is out! Everyone was enjoying it, in town, in the harbour, on the beach, building sandcastles or just sitting in the sun.
~
~
Castle Watch Tower with the Statue of Prince Albert in the foreground. The first stone of the Prince Consort Memorial was laid in 1864 by the Mayor of the Town, George White. The Philips family of Picton Castle lent their support to the funding of the project. We always visit Albert when we go to Tenby. He sits atop his plinth gazing out forever, for once without a seagull on his head.
~
On the summit of Castle Hill, there once stood a round watch tower which has long since been demolished, making way for the square tower housing a circular staircase, the remains of which can be seen today. Also prominent on the summit, is the old Coastguard House, together with cannon used in the defense of the Town during the Napoleonic Wars, they have since been renovated by The Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers based at the Royal Artillary range at Manorbier. An excellent climbing frame, but don't tell health and safety!
~
No comments:
Post a Comment